Looking back

A year ago at this time we heard our fate for the first time. April 4 was my first appointment with Fetal Care Institute. April 8 was my MRI and confirmation of what Dr. Vlastos has already suspected. Lucie had congenital diaphragmatic hernia. For us it was a relief to know what was wrong. For several weeks all we knew was something was wrong. There was fluid around her lungs and we had no idea why. There is still no known reason for the fluid bedsides God giving us a sign Lucie was sick. This started our new “adventure” for lack of a better word. Weekly checkup a turned to biweekly appointments turned to twice a week appointment. And ultimately an indefinite stay at St. Mary’s. I look back at the year and I have so many emotions and thought. Why us seems to pop into my mind a lot. Wasn’t it enough that Ryan has major eye issues or seizures? Wasn’t it enough to put us through all that and know that it will continue to be a struggle for us? But apparently God feels that we are major bad asses and handle more- which we did. I gave birth to a baby I was unsure would live. She lived and showed everyone she’s boss. Now she’s even ahead on some things and her lungs look like any other kid’s lungs. How did we get so blessed? How is the feeling of despair turned into a major blessing? God amazes me. I never know what he’s going to throw at me, but I do know he will help me handle it.

Lucie is now 9 months old. She weighs 15 lbs 6 oz. she is 2′ 3″. she cruises around like nobodies business. I’m pretty sure she will be walking before the end of May. I am in awe of her daily. Every time she says “hi” or dada” or “yea”. When she waves at me or gives dada a high five I can’t believe she can do that already. I’m feeling pretty emotional thinking about this time last year, and I feel like I’m have a hard time expressing how happy I actually am. Or maybe I’m just sad I have Lucie sleeping in her own bed all night now. I did love my snuggles.

I can tell I’m starting to ramble. I want to say, though, thank you for following Lucie’s story. Thank you for praying for her and for loving her. Please continue to pray for her, but more importantly all CDH babies. April is CDH awareness month and I am spreading awareness everyday. Feel free to share this blog to someone- anyone- and help save the sick babies still fighting everyday.

20140406-201246.jpg

20140406-201317.jpg

20140406-201330.jpg

20140406-201349.jpg

20140406-201358.jpg

Leave a comment